Where can I find my criminal record in New Jersey?
Criminal records are held by the New Jersey State Police, FBI, and private companies. To find your criminal record via the New Jersey State Police, you will need to get your fingerprints. The most accurate way to obtain your criminal record would be through the FBI. To do this, you can submit a request through their website. Finally, private companies with access to public information databases also offer criminal record checks, such as this website.
Which offenses are misdemeanors in New Jersey?
As defined by New Jersey law, a misdemeanor is an offense that has a sentence of up to 6 months in either prison, rehabilitation, or probation. Examples of misdemeanors are things like minor drug offenses, urinating in public, vandalism, and shoplifting. New Jersey is unique in the fact that it’s “misdemeanors” are called disorderly person offenses. In most other states, misdemeanors are a minor type of crime, and felonies are the more severe type of crime. The difference in the name does not mean much; it’s just a different label for similar offenses.
Which offenses are felonies in New Jersey?
In New Jersey, there are four different degrees of felonies, which are called indictable offenses.
Fourth-degree felonies: 18-month maximum sentence and fines ranging up to $10,000. Examples:
Third-degree felonies: 3-5 years in prison and a maximum fine of $15,000. Examples:
Second-degree felonies: 5-10 years in prison, with fines up to $150,000. Examples:
First degree felonies: 10 years to a life sentence in prison and fines up to $200,000. Examples:
How long do you have to wait to get your record expunged in New Jersey?
Applying for expungement usually takes five years in New Jersey. However, depending on the circumstances, you could apply earlier. For example, certain drug offenses that result in a rehabilitation sentence could be expunged immediately. Arrests that don’t result in a conviction can be expunged immediately as well. There is also an option to get a “Clean Slate,” meaning your record would be completely cleared. The time that must pass for this is ten years since your last sentence ended.
Are juvenile records sealed in New Jersey?
Most juvenile records are sealed from most of the public in New Jersey. Certain officials and school employees can request the record information for the overall safety of the school. Additionally, victims can also view the juvenile record.
Are arrest records public in New Jersey?
All records relating to court, criminal, arrest, and the sex offender registry are publicly accessible. The main difference between arrest records and criminal records is that the arrest record solely shows the details of the arrest, not the conviction or sentence. This means that someone with multiple arrests can be completely innocent.
How do I look up sex offenders in New Jersey?
The Division of State Police provides a search for registered sex offenders. They maintain the sex offender registry and are required to keep it public. There are three different tiers to sex offenders: tier one is the least severe, and tier three is the most severe.
What is Megan's Law New Jersey?
Megan’s Law was put into place after the tragedy of Megan Kanka, a young girl who was sexually assaulted and murdered. Every state in the US has its version of Megan’s Law that requires sex offenders to be put on a registry and notify the community of their presence and offenses.
How far back does a background check go in New Jersey?
Once you have committed a crime in New Jersey, it stays on your record unless expunged. This can be very detrimental to a career and affects all aspects of life. Employers may throw out your resume before even reading it if you have a criminal record. Individual states are implementing versions of the “ban the box” law that gives job applicants with criminal records privacy about their past. In New Jersey, this is called the Opportunity to Compete Act. It states that employers cannot ask about a job applicant’s criminal record during the first part of the application process. Questions about criminal history may be requested only after an interview. Certain businesses are exempt from this, however, such as schools. If the employer does seek out a criminal background check, then consent must be given by the job applicant.