Michigan Criminal Records

Search for state, county, and municipal criminal records in Michigan.

Criminal Records Search
First
Last
City
State

How do I look up criminal records in Michigan?

To find a criminal record in Michigan, you can use the Internet Criminal History Access Tool maintained by the Michigan State Police. A search is done by using a full name or fingerprints for a fee. The law in Michigan allows all citizens to view criminal records that have not been expunged or sealed. Another way of finding criminal records is through an FOIA (Freedom of Information Act) request to the criminal justice information center of Michigan. Finally, some private companies that have access to public databases can retrieve a criminal record, such as this one.

How long does expungement take in Michigan?

Under the Clean Slate law, misdemeanors will be automatically expunged after 7 years and felonies after 10 years. If the prison sentence for a felony is longer than 10 years, it would be expunged after release. Up to 4 misdemeanors and 2 felonies can be eligible for automatic expungement. If you do not want to wait, starting April 2021 misdemeanors can be eligible for manual expungement after 3 years. Additionally, first-time felony offenses will take 5 years and serious misdemeanors and felonies will take seven years. Note that this is the waiting period for applying for expungement, rather than just having it automatically expunged after the first-mentioned times. If you are going to apply for expungement, it is highly recommended to hire an attorney to help with the process, as it will take months and small mistakes can set you very far back.

Are juvenile records public in Michigan?

Juvenile criminal records are public in Michigan. There are only seven states that make juvenile records public, and Michigan is one of them. However, many juvenile records can be sealed. If a juvenile has less than 3 convictions, then they can all be sealed. Certain offenses such as felonies and ones that involve the use of a weapon are unable to be sealed. If one is eligible for sealing, then they can apply for a court hearing. After the record is sealed, they can truthfully answer to employers, banks, etc. that they have never committed a crime.

Are arrest records public in Michigan?

Arrest records are made available to the public and can be viewed by anyone. The difference between a criminal record and an arrest record is that the arrest record only shows instances where someone was charged with a crime, not convicted. This could mean that someone with multiple arrests could be completely innocent. An arrest record will show one’s basic information, the arresting officer, where they were held, and the details of the suspected offense.

How long is a misdemeanor on your record in Michigan?

In Michigan, misdemeanors will stay on your record until they are expunged. See the above question about expungement for details on how to clear your criminal record. There are three different degrees of misdemeanors in Michigan. The least severe is a misdemeanor punishable by a maximum sentence of 93 days in prison. An example of this type of misdemeanor would be reckless driving. The second most severe is a one-year misdemeanor, meaning that the maximum sentence for committing one of these offenses is one year. Misdemeanors like these include domestic violence and larceny. Finally, high court misdemeanors can have consequences of 2 years in prison. These are essentially felonies, as they basically have the same procedure. High court misdemeanors are offenses like indecent exposure and resisting arrest.

What is a felony in Michigan?

Felonies are the next level of offenses above misdemeanors that are much more serious and have longer sentences. Michigan classifies different felonies into different categories, ranging from Class A, the most severe, to class H, the least. The sentence described for each class is the maximum sentence that the type of felony can receive. Class A felonies are crimes like murder and kidnapping and can have up to a life sentence in prison. Class B felonies result in up to 20 years in prison and include offenses like arson and child abuse, depending on the degree. Class C felonies are offenses such as robbery and manslaughter. They are punishable by up to 15 years in prison. Class D felonies have consequences of up to 10 years in prison and include human trafficking and embezzlement. Class E felonies will result in up to 5 years in jail and are offenses such as breaking and entering, and first-degree shoplifting. Class F felonies, such as drug dealing, and credit card fraud will have sentences of up to 4 years. Class G felonies have a maximum sentence of 2 years in prison and include offenses such as a 2nd time domestic assault. Finally, class H felonies such as driving with a suspended license and may have jail time substituted with probation, monitoring, or mental health treatment. In addition to all of these sentences, fines can be given depending on the crime.

How do I look up inmates in Michigan?

To look up an inmate in Michigan, visit either the police department or the sheriff’s office to find an inmate. The police department will provide inmate locations for city jails, and the sheriff’s office will provide inmate locations for county jails. You can either visit them in person or visit their website to retrieve the information. The Michigan Department of Corrections has a search tool that can provide inmate records as well as their location. Inmate information contains their personal information, their criminal record, sentence, and release date. Certain inmate records may be restricted, but most are open to the public

How long do sex offenders have to register in Michigan?

In Michigan, tier 1 sex offenders must register for 15 years, tier 2 offenders must register for 25 years, and tier 3 offenders must register for life. The Michigan Sex Offender Registration Act requires this among other things, such as regularly confirming their address and not having contact with children. Additionally, sex offenders are not allowed to go near schools, attend sex offender treatment, among other requirements. A sex offender’s basic information, address, vehicle, and details of their offense are all public information.

“When a man is denied the right to live the life he believes in, he has no choice but to become an outlaw.” – Nelson Mandela